Got Indie?

MeetTheAuthorsbanner

 This will be my second time at Indie Book Fest and I am super excited to attend again!! 

1266983_425991690855198_335374711_o

Can’t wait to see you all there! ~ K.

Tell us a little bit about your book(s) and yourself.

I am a mom with a massive coffee addiction and a love for sugar who doesn’t feel quite whole unless in the presence of dogs…oh…and I write some 😉

My books, well, my books are a part of me.  Every single one of them reflects some aspect of who I am or what I’ve experienced. Those of you who have read Blood Bound are a little scared now, aren’t you?!

When was your first book published?

My first novel was published in January of 2012…which seems like an eternity ago now.

Why did you decide to become an Indie Author? 

I had spent some time pursuing writing screenplays and breaking into that industry. It didn’t take very long for me to get frustrated with trying to pry open doors that seemed to only go one way. Around that time, my mother mentioned self-publishing to me. I was nervous at first, but the idea of taking charge of my own destiny really appealed to me. Why should I wait for someone else’s approval to share my work when I don’t need it? I shouldn’t. None of us should. The only opinions I care about now when it comes to my work are the readers’ and my own.

Are you currently working on anything?

I am just putting the final touches on Salty (an action/adventure with a touch of romance) and preparing to publish it on February 19th. IN addition to that, I am currently writing a new contemporary romance titled Diner Guy.

Who and what inspired you to write?

I’ve always written. I mean, I literally can’t recall a time when I wasn’t writing something…so it’s hard to pinpoint who or what triggered it, other than my overactive imagination and overwhelming (and often annoying) need to express myself. However, there are two people who ultimately pushed me to pursue writing more professionally – my mother and my daughter.

Each author has his or her own inspiring journey. How did you begin writing?

I’m not sure how inspiring it is, but I began writing with more of a purpose shortly after I had my daughter. I was a stay at home mom with a husband who was out of town from Monday-Friday and writing was the perfect way to fill the empty spaces when my daughter was sleeping and I was alone. After years of wanting to complete a variety of projects and never having the time or self-discipline to do so, I was finally able to complete something. I knew the moment I started the story that it was the one, that it would clear the writing path and that I’d be able to write anything anytime I wanted to after that…and I was right. I’ve had a blast these last six years and done more writing than I ever have before in my life.

What is on your writing playlist for your book(s)?

My current playlist consists of 465 songs since I tend to just keep adding to it rather than make a new one with each book. With Salty I was listening to songs like Say Something by A Great Big World and Christina Aguilera, Waiting For Superman by Daughtry, Ho Hey by The Lumineers and Monster by Eminem. For some reason I was really hung up on Say Something while I was writing. Played it over and over and over again.

Who is your favorite character in your books?

I have to say Salty. She’s by far the coolest, most bad-ass character I’ve ever written. And that’s saying something since strong, stubborn and slightly insane female leads are kinda my thing 😉

What is your favorite book of all time? 

You want me to pick just one?? Is that even possible? Fine…If Tomorrow Comes by Sidney Sheldon.

Tell us in one sentence why we should read your books.

All the cool kids are doing it 😉

And now…let’s have some fun with a GIVEAWAY!!

**Click HERE for your chance to win (among other things!) a signed paperback copy of Lucky In Love**

 Hop around and Meet the Authors of Indie Book Fest 2014. Each stop features an author and a contest.

Leave a Reply

