Taking 2014 Head On ~

I know I’m a bit late on this since January is already over halfway through, but better late than never I say. While I tend to not make new years resolutions in my personal life, I did make a pretty extensive list of things I would like to achieve this year with my writing. Not sure they count as resolutions…I mean some of them are changes I’d like to make, things I intend to do differently, but mostly it just feels like a do-list with some pretty hefty to-do’s on it.

For starters, I decided it was time to make the switch to my own domain names. When I first got started, I had a budget of zero so I was all about taking advantage of all the freebies out there. Free blog, free website. Free was good. Free still is good, but at some point it starts to feel less professional when I have to add wordpress or wix or blogspot to every address I want to send people to. So, my first big move this year was to make my blog and website all official like. I can now be found at http://www.friedgatortail.com and http://www.ksthomas.net. 🙂

Which brings me to number two on the list. It just sort of hit me out of nowhere that perhaps a pen name would be a good way to sort of organize my projects better and create a more recognizable brand for myself. I think it was when I heard a book blogger try to pronounce my last name and get too hung up on it to say anything else about the book that I realized my name just isn’t very user friendly. I’d noticed it in reviews as well. People were constantly mis-spelling or completely changing my last name. Well, they’re gonna have a hell of a time finding my other books if nobody can remember my name, right? Right. So, I decided to make things simple for all of us and go by K.S. Thomas for all of my adult and YA fiction. It’s not a name plucked out of thin air, it actually still relates to me very closely, as close as any name other than my own could, so I feel very good about making this transition and hope that others won’t be too confused by the change…

Next on my list is starting my own publishing company. I don’t intend to make it a full time business, however, I continue to strive to present my work in the most professional way I can and seeing a publisher’s name behind the author’s does seem to appease many readers. Plus, I like the idea of having it all tied together in a nice little package. After all, I’m doing all the things a publisher would from editing to covers and marketing, it’s up to me to organize and execute it all, so it just seems logical to take this next step. On a side note, I get to come up with a new name and label and my creative side is happily jumping up and down about that!

But the most exciting new project I’m taking on this year is converting Lucky In Love into a play so that I can submit it to one of the local theaters. I’m nervous about it, mostly because it’s something I really, really, REALLY want to see happen, but I’m not going to let my doubts and fears about being rejected stop me this year from pursuing this new avenue!

So, those are all the business related things I’m striving to accomplish in 2014, some of which I’ve already managed to tackle. Then of course, there’s my future writing endeavors.

As I’m nearing the end of Salty, I know I’ll be able to jump back into Diner Guy soon while Salty is undergoing editing and other preparations for publishing. I am pretty optimistic that both will be finished and out in the world by the end of February, early March. From there I’m excited to get started with Book Two of  The Final Descendants Series as well as a new project I’m looking forward to involving an outspoken and somewhat crass female DJ who will have something to say about well, everything…but mostly men. There will be a lot of humor with a side of soul searching which I think many women will be able to relate to.

I’m also tossing around the idea of doing a little serial via amazon. I’ve seen a lot of authors doing them recently and I’ve had this idea for a fun little story for a while but hadn’t really pursued it, but I think this format may be a good fit. Plus, it’s good to try new things, right?

Let’s see, what else? Well, ever since writing Getting Lucky, the story of Vegas has been swirling around in my head…so, expect to hear from her shortly. Oh, and did I mention that I’ve started work on Noah’s side of the story??

Last but not least, I have a new heroine named Téa  making her way to the forefront of my mind. Her story is pretty cool, or at least I think it is 😉 But that’s about all I can tell you about her for now…

Alright, so there’s my 2014 forecast! Let’s hope it’s more accurate than the weather…

 

 

Leave a Reply

