The Liebster Award

Liebster Award

I’ve been nominated by Joan P. Lane, author of THE TANGLED WEB, an international thriller with elements of suspense and romance.  THE TANGLED WEB is a story of passion, patriotism and political intrigue. THE TANGLES WED is available in Kindle. Find out more about J.P. Lane and The Tangled Web on Amazon or visit Joan at her blog.

The purpose of the Liebster Blog Award is to recognize blogs with fewer than 200 followers that deserve a look. My job is to:
(a) List 11 random facts about me;
(b) Answer 11 questions Joan has sent me;
(c) Set 11 questions to ask other authors;
(d) Tag other authors who should bask in the Liebster glow.
To my nominated writer friends – it means doing the same as I am doing here, i.e. post a blog linking back to mine, share 11 random facts about you, then nominate 11 bloggers to do the same. If you want to do this, but the thought of finding 11 other bloggers to tag puts you off, just write 11 random facts about yourself and remember to link back to my blog.
11 Random Facts About Me
1.  I would rather stay up until 5am than get up at 5am.
2.  Grease is one of my all-time favorite  movies.
3.  I love the beach.
4.  I used be a pet photographer.
5.  I’m not what you would call a great cook, but I make awesome shrimp tacos!
6.  My favorite color is green.
7.  I have two shadows…their names are Peacha and Halo. They are big and hairy and reek of dog…but I LOVE them.
8.  I am fluent in German.
9.   I’m a runner.
10. I have two addictions…one is sugar, the other is music.
11. My daughter is the CENTER of my universe.
Here are the 11 questions Joan asked me:
1. What is your biggest dream as an author?
The ultimate dream would be to see one of my books come to life on the big screen.
2. How do you feel when you’ve come to the final page of a first draft?
Ridiculously happy and relieved. For a moment…then I remember that there’s still so much more work to do.
3. How do you go about naming your characters?
It really depends on the story. Some characters seem to show up already named, others require a bit more research or creative thinking. For one story I wrote I named every single character after a member of my friend’s family. I have another in my to-be written notebook where all the characters are named after people I used to work with. The characters have absolutely nothing to do with the real people, I just liked the collection of names.
4. Have you ever changed the name of a character?
Not that I can recall. It’s kind of like naming your child…once you start calling someone by a name, that’s sort of who they become. There’s no turning back for me after that.
5. Do you write to the end and then edit, or edit as you go?
I do a little of both, but the bulk of editing happens after I’m done writing out the entire story.
6. Has a reader ever said something about your book or blog that made your day? If so, what was it?
One reader said that Country Girls reminded her of Fanny Flagg’s stories. That was pretty cool 🙂
7. What is your favorite time of day to write?
At night.
8. What motivated/inspired you to become a writer?
In a way I’ve always been a writer, but it was my mother who kept pushing me to pursue it more seriously and to publish my work.
9. Would you continue writing if nobody ever read anything you wrote?
Absolutely. I wrote for twenty years never intending for anyone to read my work…writing for an audience is a pretty new thing for me.
10. What’s the happiest writer’s moment you’ve ever had?
I’ve been lucky to have had some really great experiences thus far so it’s hard to choose. However, my most significant writer’s moment was the first time I actually finished an entire project. After hundreds of started novels and screenplays, it was the most amazing feeling to finally be able to write the end. The only thing that made it even better was knowing that from then on I would be able to keep doing it.
I’m tagging the following writers to continue the next chain of the Liebster Blog Award.
One thought on “The Liebster Award

  1. Pingback: The Liebster Award | Writings from the Soul of a Free Spirit

Leave a Reply

