Blissfully Happy

135672765

For quite a while now I’ve been wanting to try my writer’s hand at fantasy. I liked the idea of unlimited possibilities and freedom to create to my hearts desire. The only problem was, I didn’t have a story to actually write. I had a very vague idea, which is often a good place to start, only in this case…nothing else followed.

So, I set the idea aside, and focused on other projects that were already in the works. Then, out of nowhere, the initial idea flared up in my brain while I was still trying to finish my then work in progress. It was all I could do to force myself to finish what I had already started and not drop everything and jump into this new and exciting creative wave. No, not a wave, this one hit me more like a full on tsunami. Nevertheless, I plowed on with my story, allowing myself only a few notes here and there as the new story continued to bubble just below the surface.

Normally, I like to wait a few weeks, if not a month or two between writing projects to clear me head and regroup before I start over. Not this time. As soon as that last sucker was edited and uploaded to Amazon, I went to work on the next thing. This crazy-big-can’t-take-my-mind-off-of-it-and-the-ideas-just-keep-coming-thing. In the past, I’ve used my notebook only for jotting down initial ideas and then I set it down and moved on to actually writing. Not the case this time. I have scribbled away, covering page after page, there are little stars and lines and arrows EVERYWHERE, but I don’t want to forget anything, so I just keep going. I can’t part with the notebook. It goes with me everywhere. Even as I’m brushing my teeth, it sits just a few feet away, because what else am I going to do while I’m scrubbing away but think about the story. So, as soon as I spit and rinse, I’m running to my notebook and scribbling some more.

Notes aren’t the only thing I’m writing. It hasn’t been very long, but I’m already 8000 words into the story…and I’m only just getting started! Honestly, I have no idea if this is going to be any good when it’s done. It could be total fantasy crap, filled with things so unbelievable even people who relish dragons and vampires won’t be able to buy into it. Who knows?! I don’t. What I do know, is that my inner child is running wild with excitement. Blissfully happy as the words flow from my fingertips and onto the screen, forming a story even I don’t fully understand yet. So, if you don’t see me around for a while…I’ve sunken deep down into fantasy land and I may decide to stay there for a while 🙂

Leave a Reply

