Throwing Out The Deadlines

126963488

This last year has been all about writing for me. Once I wrote my first novel, all I wanted to do was write another one…and another one…and then some more. It was exciting and fun, feeling so incredibly productive. Not to mention, it was incredibly satisfying having finally found an outlet for all of the crazy thoughts that tumble round and round this head of mine on a daily basis.

Of course, it was also a lot of work. For the first time when I sat down to write, it was with the intention to not only finish what I was working on, but also to reach a standard of quality that would make it acceptable to the public eye. This meant that I was suddenly writing with a deadline and putting forth the extra effort to actually edit. Something I never bothered with before, because before, writing wasn’t so much about sharing my thoughts as it was about getting them out. Once I had done that, there was never really a reason to revisit them. That’s not the case anymore.

These last two months were especially challenging in that department. I was working with two deadlines and editing two books. One for me and one for my publisher. To say that it was stressful and damn near took all the fun out of it for me, would be an understatement, but in the meantime, having successfully launched two books within two weeks of each other, I can happily say ~ it was worth it.

Having said that, I’ve decided to give up deadlines for a while. It may be short-lived since I seem to work best under pressure, but for now, I’m just going to write to write and see what comes of it. I’ve already put a thousand or so words into my next project and I’m pretty stoked about this one. I also think that it will be with me for quite some time, marinating and developing… and for the first time in what feels like a long time, I’m in no rush to change that. I’m just going to enjoy it 🙂

4 thoughts on “Throwing Out The Deadlines

Leave a Reply

