The Next Big Thing

I’ve joined the Next Big Thing thanks to Fran Lewis who invited me. Fran Lewis is the author of three children’s books and a fourth Alzheimer’s book is Memories are Precious: Alzheimer’s Journey: Ruth’s story in honor of her mom.

Fran  also writes reviews for authors upon request and for several other sites. You can read some of her reviews on http://Ezine.com and on ijustfinished.com under the name Gabina. Click Here To Listen to Fran’s Radio Show and Here.

I have to answer these questions:

What is the working title of Your Book?

This Christmas

Where did the idea come from for the book?

I came up with the original concept (which was originally titled Mad House) way back when I was still in Middle School. My family had just moved to Florida from Germany. I was 13 and shy, so I spent most of my time coming up with these crazy stories in which the characters sort of became my friends to keep me from getting lonely. Thankfully, I adjusted to my new surroundings by the time I started high school, but the crazy stories really haven’t stopped since…

What genre does your book fall under?

This book would probably be considered Young Adult.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie?

Let’s see, I would pick Bridgit Mendler to play Anna…Nick Jonas would make a great Lindsay and maybe Selena Gomez to play Danielle. And then Anne Heche to play Lisa (Anna’s Mom) and Patrick Dempsey to play Paul (Lindsay’s Dad)…yeah, that would be pretty  awesome 🙂

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

Haha…well. Not counting the initial scraps I put together at thirteen…it didn’t take me long at all once I got started…until my computer was attacked by a virus and shut down on me for a few months. All together it probably took me between 1-3 months to put together the first draft. Now I’m just working on filling it all in…that will probably take a few more weeks.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

I honestly have no idea. It’s been a very long time since I read any Young Adult books at all…

Who or What inspired you to write this book?

Indirectly it was sort of my daughter. For a while she was hooked on this movie and she watched it over and over again. It was the quirky lead character that reminded me of the story I had jotted down all those years ago. Next thing I knew, I was ready to bring that story back to life.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Let’s see, aside from the fact that it takes place during my favorite time of year…and the fact that it’s centered around an adorable little love story, this story also comes with a pet skunk named Flower, a pet squirrel named Lucy and let’s not forget, Sherman the pig. Now who wouldn’t want to read about those three?!

I have tagged these three writers to be the Next Best Thing. Be sure to go to their links and say hi next Wednesday. October 31th they will be answering these questions.

Prudence Hayes @ www.intothesunshine9.wordpress.com

Toni Sinns @ www.lilgracielou.blogspot.com

Michele Shriver @ www.micheleshriver.com

Leave a Reply

