Meet Lucky ~

What is your story? My Story is called Lucky in Love. I think the title is sort of a joke on me really, since everyone calls me Lucky but the truth is I have been everything but lucky in love.

Who are you? My name is Lindsay Rose, but ever since I was little everyone has always called me Lucky. It’s a nickname my grandmother Pearl gave me. I guess you could say that I’m the main character of this story.

Are you the hero of your own story? Yes…and no. I like to think that I had enough guts and gumption to take charge and fix what was broken, and in a way I did, but in the end…it was someone else who saved the day.

What is your problem in the story? Where do I begin? I guess it started before this story began. You see, I had my heart broken pretty badly when I was young and dumb and didn’t see it coming. So, in an attempt to keep my heart safe, I kind of built this wall around me…a lovely wall made up of extremely handsome men. Men I adored in many ways but who were all unavailable to me in one way or another. I was good with that. I had all the benefits of having a guy in my life (or three guys) without any risk. It didn’t become a problem until all three of my guys started to move on without me. That’s when I realized that I was alone. That I had been fooling myself into believing that I was getting everything I needed out of these relationships while not getting hurt…because in the end, it crushed me. In more ways than one…

Do you run from conflict? I don’t like to think of it as running away from conflict. More like I’m running towards something that holds more promise of being positive. But, yeah, I run from conflict.

How do your friends see you? I hope they see me as someone they can depend on. Someone they can confide in and trust. I think I’m probably perceived as being a tad serious, but my friends know that I like to let loose and have fun, too.

How does the author see you? As a reflection…or maybe a memory of her younger self. A younger self who had the chance to make different decisions.

Do you have any distinguishing marks? I have a birthmark under my left thigh that looks like a chocolate chip cookie.

Do you have any special strengths? Patience. I can be incredibly patient.

Do you have any special skills? You mean like can I wiggle my ears or juggle grapefruits? No. The best I have to offer in that department is the fact that I can slice up a watermelon better and faster than anyone I know. That only comes in handy once or twice a year though at a BarBQ.

Did anything newsworthy happen on the day you were born? I’m not sure it would be considered newsworthy, but I was born on my grandmother’s birthday. The family had planned this big surprise party for her, but instead she showed up to an empty house because my mother went into labor right before and everyone took off to the hospital…since they had been so busy keeping everything from her they forgot to let her know about the change in plans.

One last question, what is your most closely guarded secret? I have two…one I keep because I don’t think anyone else would understand…and the other because I’m not ready to admit it to myself…and I’m not going to tell you either one because I’ll ruin the book if I do 😉

Leave a Reply

