A Story Of Fast Cars, Young Love And Yes, The Mob!

I love to read…almost as much as I love to write. I prefer fiction, but have been known to read some non-fiction as well provided it’s a topic I’m interested in or is guaranteed to make me laugh (‘Lies That Chelsea Handler Told Me’ springs to mind). However, I am also seriously stuck in the dark ages. Truthfully, I like it there! I prefer paperbacks to ebooks, VHS to DVD (don’t even get me started on Blu-Ray, seriously, I would have nothing to say…what is the difference there anyway??) and not for nothing, but I like my entertainment center, which fits perfectly with my big and bulky television/ VCR.  I also miss the excitement of waiting for print photos and not finding out until the film has been developed to see if a shot turned out the way you had hoped. Not to mention the fact that I feel far more creative when using film over digital…don’t ask me why, I’m sure it’s a mental thing…but I digress.

Last Christmas I received a tablet from the jolly old elf, much to my own surprise, by my own request. You see, I thought it would be a handy way to get some writing done no matter where I am or what I’m doing. Well, seven months later and I have finally figured out how to work the thing and it turns out I was right, it is SUPER convenient.

Among other things, I have also discovered that after downloading the free kindle app, I can read BOOKS on it too 🙂 I know, not earth shattering information to most, but pretty enlightening to the dark ages…and also pretty exciting given all of the free ebooks I’ve scored in the last few months from all of the wonderful Indie authors I have met along the way. And while I still prefer a good old-fashioned paperback, there’s something to be said for not needing a nightlight while reading in bed….

This last week I had a chance to read ‘I’ve Got You Covered’ (Book 1 in The Blazing Charm Series) by Toni Sinns.

I got sucked in pretty quickly to this story of fast cars, young love and yes, the mob! If I had to sum it up in just a few words, I would say that it was a bit like ‘General Hospital goes back to High School’ (What? You don’t have a guilty pleasure!? Come on, no judgement…). The more I got to know the characters, the more I wanted to know MORE…and I was not disappointed. Although, I have a sneaking suspicion there are still plenty of secrets left to be revealed come book number two.

The romance between John and Anistasia was refreshingly realistic given that they didn’t just meet and fall in love a second later. Instead, there was a gradual build up as the two got to know each other and I, the reader, got to know them, giving me all the time I needed to reach that ‘when-are-they- going-to-get-together-already?!’ anxiety I so love to suffer through.

I also appreciated the fact that while there was an underlying sense of violence, it was always more implied than actually depicted in such great detail that it might have seared horrific images into my brain for days to follow. I say some things are better left to the reader’s imagination.

Toni Sinns has a remarkable ability as a writer to send the reader on an exciting journey in search of the details that will bring the big picture into full view while only really revealing small fractions of it at a time; all the while still allowing for an easy and enjoyable read that doesn’t end up being more work than entertainment.

I for one, am ready to see what Toni has in store for Ani and John in book number two!

I've Got You Covered (The Blazing Charm)

To get your own copy just check out the links below~

The kindle version for you high-tech folks…

http://www.amazon.com/Ive-Covered-Blazing-Charm-ebook/dp/B007TVCS26/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1342468577&sr=8-4&keywords=Toni+Sinns

And the paperback for old suckers like me…

http://www.amazon.com/Ive-Got-You-Covered-Blazing/dp/1475182813/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1342468577&sr=8-1&keywords=Toni+Sinns

In the meantime, turn off the TV, put down the Iphone and step away from the computer… It’s time to read a BOOK 🙂 Next on my list – The Tangled Web by J.P. Lane

~Karina

Leave a Reply

