Interview with Eli Wilson from ‘Country Girls’

Well then, let’s get started with the basics. Who are you?

My name is Elizabeth Claire Wilson, but everyone calls me Eli…mostly because I hate Elizabeth…and Claire wasn’t much of an option either.

Where do you live?

I live in a small town called Angie in lovely Louisiana. We’ve got a ranch on a few hundred acres on the outskirts of town where we raise cattle and keep a dozen or so horses. The place has been in our family for four generations, Harry grew up here same as we did, which is nuts when you think about it.

Who is Harry?

Oh, sorry. Harry is our granddaddy. My sister’s Emma, Evey and I have lived with him since we were little. Evey’s moved out, so now it’s just Em and I…well and Harry. I reckon he’ll be here longer than any of us, although I suppose there’s always a chance Roscoe will be the one to outlive us all, I swear, that dog has to be close to twenty now.

Are you the hero of your own story?

I wouldn’t say that, but then I guess it depends on who you ask…just don’t go askin’ Ralph. That son of bitch hates me and he never knows what he’s talkin’ about anyway.

What is your problem in the story?

A man. Isn’t that the problem in EVERY story?!

Do you embrace conflict?

Eli grins. You could say that.

Do you have a hero?

Without even thinking I want to say my mama…but then I think, what’s a hero? Some knight in shining armor who runs into rescue you from whatever dragons are after you? Well, I’ve never quite had the luxury to believe in those, so no, no hero…however, if I you want the honest truth, and I imagine you do…I’ve had a real life hero for as long as I can remember. My sister Em…but don’t tell her I said that.

What in your past had the most profound effect on you?

When I was four my mama died in a horrible fire. Obviously it didn’t just affect me, it affected Em and Evey as well. I can honestly say that no other event in our lives has ever changed us more or left as profound a mark on us as that one night did.

What in your past would you like to forget?

Silence.

Eli? What in your…

Yeah, I heard you. I reckon the things I’d like to forget are the same things I’d prefer not to talk about.

What in your past would you like others to forget?

I’d like it if you could just forget these questions and get on with it.

Is there anything else about your background you’d like to discuss?

Not particularly no…

Well, then, let’s move on to something a little more fun. What is your favorite scent? Why?

Hay. It just always reminds me of home.

What is your favorite color? Why?

Lavender. It’s the color of the dress my mama was wearing the last time I saw her. Earlier that same day we had played hide and seek in the cornfields behind our house…I would get anxious waiting for her to find me and then I’d see that flash of lavender through the tall corn stalks and I’d know she was right there with me the whole time. It’s my favorite memory of her.

What is your favorite food? Why?

Fried Chicken. It’s a southern thing.

What is your favorite beverage? Why?

Sweet Tea. See above.

What is your favorite music? Why?

I’m not too picky. Anything with a decent beat to keep me moving while I’m workin’ is fine by me.

What is your favorite item of clothing? Why?

My hat. I stole it from Harry when I was fifteen. It’s about seen its last day, but I can’t bring myself to part with it just yet.

Name five items in your purse, briefcase, or pockets.

Well, let’s see…I’ve got some change and an old receipt in this one. And over here… there’s some hay and a bit of dirt, I suppose that wasn’t worth mentioning… but does it count as two things? ‘Cause all I have left is my Leatherman in my back pocket.

If you were stranded on a desert island, who would you rather be stranded with, a man or a woman?

Ha! I can tell you right now, if I was stranded with a man he’d take his chances with the ocean and make a swim for it!

One more thing, how do you envision your future?

Tell you the truth, I’m too busy enjoyin’ today to worry about anythin’ else.

Thank you Eli. It has been my pleasure getting to know a little bit more about you!

Leave a Reply

