All Day Long, Every Day Of The Week

I became a writer so long ago, I honestly couldn’t even tell you at what age it began. Even when I wasn’t putting the stories on paper, I was busy forming them in my head. To this day, that is at the center of who I am and what I do. I make stuff up. All day long, every day of the week. I wouldn’t know how to stop even if I wanted to.

Throughout the years I dabbled in different things. I wrote a short story here, scribbled some poetry there. As a teenager I became interested in screenplays and for a while I would jot down random scenes as they occurred to me. At the time I lacked the commitment and discipline to follow through and actually finish something. I suppose that very problem led me to focus the bulk of my writing on poetry. Pieces that could be finished in one sitting.

From my years in high school all the way into my mid-twenties, I must have written hundreds of poems. Some rhymed, some didn’t. Some were deep and dark while others were lighthearted and even funny. The one thing they all had in common was me. Every single word I wrote was an intimate piece of myself. My poems were so personal in fact, that I rarely chose to share them with anyone. On the rare occasion that I did opt to let someone read my work, I felt exposed, embarrassed even at the insight they would gain from reading what I had written. It should come as no surprise to you, that although I have in fact published some of my poems, I chose another name to do it under.

While it’s not always easy to bare your soul and express your feelings, I like writing with that kind of honesty. Even now that I have ventured into fiction, you can always find pieces of myself throughout my stories. In ‘Country Girls’, I split myself in three to create the three sisters. I gave them each a piece of myself, whether it was a piece I loved or hated, and then I added characteristics to each of them to offset the parts of me they already had. Furthermore, I centered their lives around a lifestyle I was not only familiar with, but truly loved when I was younger and living it. I included more intricate details in ‘Lucky In Love’. Truthfully, Lucky’s journey isn’t much unlike one I was on in my twenties. The more I wrote, the more of me poured into her. The same can be said for ‘Don’t Think I Don’t’, a project I haven’t published yet, but intend to soon.

My current project is a little different in the fact that all the lead characters are male. At first glance, I suppose it will be hard for readers to spot me in ‘Blood Bound’, but I can say without doubt, that my feelings and experiences will be reflected on those pages. The simple truth is, that those who know me and know me well, will always be able to find me in my work. And I’m okay with that. Good or bad, those parts of me are real and for me I feel that they add an element of life to what begins as an inanimate story.

~Karina

2 thoughts on “All Day Long, Every Day Of The Week

  1. Karina, I sympathize entirely with the sentiment of exposing ourselves in our work. I’m still very neurotic about sharing my work, but I also think that honesty has a great potential to make writing poignant. Have you read “The Picture of Dorian Gray” by Oscar Wilde? I just finished it today and I liked so much what one of the characters said about the artist and his/her art that I copied it down:
    “Every portrait that is painted with feeling is a portrait of the artist, not of the sitter. The sitter is merely the accident, the occasion. It is not he who is revealed by the painter; it is rather the painter who, on the coloured canvas, reveals himself. The reason I will not exhibit this picture is that I am afraid that I have shown in it the secret of my own soul.”

Leave a Reply

